October 7 – Marie Julie

Standard

Since I’ve been talking about sponsorship lately I wanted to share the story of my sponsored kid, Marie Julie Magdalie. I started sponsoring Marie Julie after my trip to Haiti this summer, I just felt like God was calling me to do something more, to get personally involved. Although I didn’t meet her while I was down there, I am so glad I am able to sponsor her. She is such a cute and sweet little girl. She was born 2/20/08 and was originally placed in the mission’s baby orphanage in St. Louis du Nord when she was only a few weeks old. Her mother is mentally ill and it was felt that the orphanage would be a better option for Marie Julie. Both her mother and great-aunt stayed in the mission’s gran moun home although her mom soon left and they don’t really know where she is today. Her great-aunt, Madam Senelise Francois is still in the gran moun home and is apparently a very sweet lady. No one knows who Marie Julie’s father is or if she has siblings, but it’s thought that she doesn’t. Anyway, Marie Julie arrived at the Mole orphanage after I left with all the other orphans. From the pictures I’ve seen of her she is a joyful and sweet girl and my prayer is that someday soon I will be able to meet her in person. I pray that God will allow our friendship to grow and continue and that besides God and the mission, I will also always be for her and support her. I pray that her heart will be soft to the Word of God and that she will truly understand and internalize the messages and stories she hears from the Bible or at children’s church. I pray that her life can be an example of a true Christ-follower and she will be able to mentor and help those around her. And again I pray that the other orphans will have the opportunity to be sponsored, as it is not just the financial funding that is so necessary but it’s also the life-long friendships that can form.